Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: How can I add flac support to NC5 / VDJ ? - Page: 1

This part of topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information

Hello,

This is my first time on any kind of forum. My situation, which has driven me to the edge of despair, propelled me into this action. I have recently purchased Numark Cue 5, aka VDJ. I bought this on impulse, whilst buying some hardware, but felt reassured due to its reputable position in this field.

I am in the early stages of digitizing my entire music collection, CD's & Vinyl and have chosen to store them in FLAC format, on massive NAS Drives accompanied by a music server. However, I have also recently entered the world of DJ'ing, where I was invited to play the music at a show. It went so well, that I've been invited onto the team to provide the pre, post and change-over music. The venue owner was also impressed and is preparing an offer of my own slot!

So, I now have the need to store my music at audiophile quality for my home system and for portability to take on the road, as required. Enter Numark Cue 5. Alas, it does not cite direct support for FLAC. I have downloaded what I think to be the FLAC codec, from sourceforge. But it appears to be a FLAC editing tool for windows. The selection of 'add' codec within the config window does not show flac on the list.

Can anyone please advise me on how I may source and load/import the flac codec into Numark Cue 5? Also, can the tags be read too? A perusal of threads here suggests that it is not supported. Have I got this wrong? Even the mighty Winamp can process and play flac files. Is it unreasonable to think that the eminent NC5 / VDJ software should at least do the same? I really am confused now.

I am committed to flac and if I can't use VDJ to process this codec then I'll sadly have to look at other inferior products that do support it.

Please help / advise.

Thanking you in advance

Steve

Posted Fri 14 Nov 08 @ 7:14 am