Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Question for DJ Cyderhouse

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hey Cyderhouse. I got a Q for you. Im planning to buy a completely new pc or build one. What would you recommend, a Desktop or a Laptop? Considering the use of it mainly for Djing? i noticed your answer for a post on the hardware support forum and thought i could ask you, also, i saw the excellent setup you have...i saw the pic in your blog! Waiting for a reply.
thanks
DJ Aditya

Posted Thu 02 Jun 05 @ 3:11 pm
Well DJ aditya there are a few questions you should answer yourself first. I'm a computer technician as well and one thing you must ask yourself is weither you want a desktop or laptop.

A desktop PC will give you a much better performance then a laptop although it gives you extra weight if you want to lug it around from gig to gig.

A laptop is not as powerful since everything is powered mostly by the CPU but is very lightweight and easy to carry around.

I'm sure Cyderhouse can say the same thing although another alternative you can look into is a rackmount case so you can mount the desktop inside a 19" roadcase along with your amp (if you have it racked in a box)

Best Regards

DJ White Devil

Posted Thu 02 Jun 05 @ 3:33 pm
mp3jrickPRO InfinityHonorary MemberMember since 2003
3U rack is the only way to fly imo.
No limitations to deal with, ever.

Posted Thu 02 Jun 05 @ 4:16 pm
I've been running dj software off my laptop for about two years now. For running purely music it's great, but hard drive space quickly became a problem for me. I only have a 60 gig in my laptop and a little over a 100 gigs in actual mp3 files. I've solved that by dragging along a removable hard drive.