Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Beginner questions!

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hello All!

(I apologize if this is in the wrong forum, or not allowed, or simply a searchable subject.)

I have just recently begun getting my feet wet into the DJ world and i stumbled upon Virtual DJ. I am using the trial version, and the software itself is very impressive. Easy to use yet advanced.

I have been siphing through the user guide bit by bit and basically i am wondering... What do i need to get truly STARTED? I have no first hand experience DJing or even second hand. Basically if someone randomly off the street asked you what it took to get going, what would you tell them?

Are there any GOOD books?
User guides?
What hardware is great to start but also helps you progress?
What things should i purchase right off the bat to start learning and mixing?

To be completely honest... I like to start off with "everything" i could possibly need. What i dont want to do is start off with the software then realize 3 months later that i need to buy something else. So details on appropriate hardware/software would be amazing!

I would love to get moving and start trying things with an idea of how to get there. Any help would be greatly greatly appreciated. I will certainly explore the forums more, and thank you in advance!

---Alex

Posted Sat 24 Nov 07 @ 2:26 am
well that all depends on alot of things...

what genre of music?
mobile/home dj?
budget$$$?
if hip-hop scratching or not?
video or just audio?
cds/vinyl/or staight mp3s?

Posted Sat 24 Nov 07 @ 2:33 am
Genre of music will generally be club/dance type... Hip hop/rap/techno/dance
Im sure i'll do most if not all of my learning from home... But there's always the possibility of needing it to be mobile!
Price ranges... Best bang for the buck i guess would be the best way to put it!
Just audio. And mostly mp3.