Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Music DVD's

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

PionaraPRO InfinityMember since 2004
Hey guys

I've been checking out the forums for dvd info. Seems like there are loads of posts about it, but they all seem to refer to promo only dvd's and the like.

I've never used video at a gig before, but am quite excited about the possibilities it brings. I'm going out today to buy a music dvd to check it out.

Can someone let me know about ripping dvd's? I'm buying it from HMV. Is it just a case of using the VDJ DVD ripper facility and then playing it using vdj? Or (as I expect) is it a bit more of a pain in the ass than this?

Cheers...and keep spinnin'...(",)

P

Posted Mon 05 Feb 07 @ 12:18 pm
sbangsPRO InfinityMember since 2004
beware alot of music dvds forbid public proformance so its ilegal to rip and use them

Posted Mon 05 Feb 07 @ 12:48 pm
Skyfxl wrote :
beware alot of music dvds forbid public proformance so its ilegal to rip and use them

Don't most (if not all) CD's forbid public performance as well? And yet we do it anyway???

What would you suggest instead if it's illegal to rip them? What do the rest of the VJ's use? Purely downloaded materials?

Cheers

P

Posted Mon 05 Feb 07 @ 1:40 pm
check out vmsmedia.com for music videos

just as good as promo only

also check out ERG

Posted Mon 05 Feb 07 @ 4:16 pm
Thanks DJBIGMARK, i'll check them out.

I bought Clubmix 2007 today. It has a dvd disc. On the DVD there are .bup, .ifo and .vob files. I take it when I rip the files I'm only looking to rip the VOB's???

I'm still a bit concerned about Sky's comments above. Anyone offer any more info on this?

Cheers...(",)

P

Posted Mon 05 Feb 07 @ 5:10 pm
ScreenplayVJpro also provides music videos. There also supply ERG and TM Century. So if you planning about getting the video fromERG of TM Century you better off getting dircetly from Doug at Screenplay.