Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: What should I get?

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

hi5techHome userMember since 2006
Hey everyone,

First off I am very impressed with VDJ thus far. But, I am wondering what i would need to be able to have a setup where i can do some scratching of the mp3 files stored on my laptop.

I intend to DJ weddings, bars, parties, schools, etc. Basically I want to be able to play regular songs from my laptop but be able to scratch and so on. Wondering if anyone could help out with selecting the best but affordable setup.

I really would like something like the xp10's. something along that idea would be great where you have actual (or sort of) decks to scratch with.

Just looking for some guidance on what all is needed for a decent setup.

would the setup go something like this.....
laptop > deck > mixer > amp

Thanks in advance
"total newb to this digital stuff obviously"

Posted Sun 31 Dec 06 @ 12:31 am
also where could i get some xp10's and at what cost? Can i get them in US? Canada?

Posted Sun 31 Dec 06 @ 12:32 am
sbangsPRO InfinityMember since 2004

Posted Sun 31 Dec 06 @ 12:48 am
xp10 are hard to get in Canada - have to order them direct from the maunfacturer in.... Denmark I beleive.

Dac-3's are actually hard to get as well - this is due to the person who owns the distribution rights in Canada being an asshole so that the music retailers don't order from him anymore.

I tried to order a dac3 yesterday from musiciansfriend.com and was told thery were not allowed to ship north of the border.

If you are going to build a personal/mobile system the dac3 is the easiest way to go. It's a damn fine peice of kit as well.

If you are doing clubs on a regular basis; use they're gear with splitter cables and hook them to a gigaport soundcard and use Time coded CD's

DJ Marcel
Purple Onion NightClub

Posted Sun 31 Dec 06 @ 12:57 am