Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Starting Out - looking for some advice

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hi! This is my first post. No, I'm not a registered user. I've only played with the trial version, but it's GREAT. I can only imagine what you can do with the full blown, once you've learned to use it. Music is my passion. I studied classical for 7 years so I've got an ear and a good feel for rythym and beat. Getting to my question - What type of equipment do you experienced users recommend for a total newbie? I don't currently plan to do shows, not sure if I could develop my skills to that level of confidence. But I love listening to D.J.'s that mix seemlessly. It amazes me what you guys (and Gals!) can do. What does the forum recommend that a guy like me buy without totally blowing my savings, yet also not going the cheapest route possible. When it comes to electronics, you get what you pay for. Looking for something I can grow into; mid-level quality for in home use maybe? A Piece-by-Piece list is literally what I am looking for.
Any help is appreciated!!!

Tommy

Posted Fri 06 Oct 06 @ 3:03 am
How much are you willing to part with? For home use you will need:

VDJ
A Multichannel Sound Card
DJ Mixer
Powered Speakers (Eliminates the need for an amp)
Headphones

(I'm assuming you already have the computer.)

That would be enough to get you started. Once we know you budget it will be easier to give you an actual list of equipment.

Posted Fri 06 Oct 06 @ 5:46 am
Thanx for the reply DJDerricke! Is $1000 - $2000 enough? I imagine that the sky (or the bottom of my pockets) is the limit. Looking for something for in-home practicing. Virtual DJ Pro is a must as I would like to incoporate the TCV's and especially to make sure I am experiencing ALL the bells and whistles.