Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Could really use some PRO advise!!!!!

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

jzafraPRO InfinityMember since 2004
Hi guys, I know that this is a bit embarrasing cuz I should know what to do but, I have gotten to where I'm at now cuz of this community so I know that you guyz can help me. I have been DJing for two years now. I spind HIPHOP, REGGAE,REGGAETON, and trance. I have successfully established a mobile DJ company with an average of two parties a month. I have played at two clubs this year. I am seeking to really begin playing in the club scene because I just love the energy that a DJ can bring to the club. My mission now is to create a DEMO. This is where I am ignorant and have no idea what club owners or entertainers are looking for in a DEMO cd. How should I structure it? What kinda of songs should I put on it? What genres should I concentrate on? How long should it be? How perfect should it be?(<What I mean is, when I've made my mixes I sometimes feel that I could've mixed a song way better or started it at a different time and so on>) I've attempted to call local venues and asked if they were looking for a DJ. Is this good or bad? How should I approach club owners and what should I say and offer or demand? I bearly know anyone in the scene already who could hook me up, so I know I have to do some leg work but I know I can do it, even if I don't know anyone yet. Anyfeed back on this would be incredibly appreciated. Once again if this is all stupid let me know too, I just want to start getting my name out there and showing others that I can mix and letting people hear what I can do. Thanks guyz

Posted Wed 30 Aug 06 @ 11:45 pm