Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Comparison Final Scratch vs. VDJ + Dvinyl

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

ProtoPRO InfinityMember since 2003
As faith would have it I just had bought Final Scratch before VDJ came up with the Dvinyl solution, and I decided to keep both. My background is digital DJing only, so I am very good with VDJ and my old DMC-1, but I suck at DJing with vinyl. I have regular paid gigs 1-2 each month. The reason I want to spin with vinyal is that it is commercial much more attractive in The Netherlands.

This is my first impression:

Availability:

FS: Here in the Netherlands it is quite easy to get FS.

VDJ+: Dvinyl hardware cannot be bought in The Netherlands, but ordering it online from Germany was easy. I am a bit worried about the time coded vinyls though. Not sure whether one can buy those seperately with ease.

So this one goes to FS as I am quiet sure it will be reasonable easy to get time coded vinyls.

-*-

Hardware

FS: It's a small disc, easy to carry with you. Yet you need off course the time code records with you.

VDJ+: It is a big machine. Worse they put the connectors on the bottem, so you cannot put it in front of the mixer. I am gonna have someone make a special casing because I want it in the upright position in front of the mixer. This is a big hassle.

FS wins this one big time. Maybe we can pressure Soundgraph in releasing a small unit without buttons. I hate carrying more with me than those gues with big record casings.

-*-

Easy of Installation:

FS: Not extremely hard to install, yet it is quiet sensitive to the right setup for the turntables & wires and stuff.

VDJ+: Very easy, plug in and go. Seems a lot less sensitive to turntables setup and wiring.