Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: MIDI Controller question to paulheu and others

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

abnormPRO InfinityMember since 2003
I would like to purchase the following midi controller for use with Virtual DJ and so far I have gotten mixed replies whether it is compatible or not:
http://www.faderfox.de/html/dj2_product_page.html

paulheu, you mentioned that "Since it uses both note-on and Control change events with equal values it won't fully work with VDJ as-is since VDJ won't know the difference between note-on #13 and CC #13 (as an example..)"
Can you explain this to me a little further since I am new to midi?
If anyone else has any information regarding Faderfox DJ1/DJ2 compatibility with VDJ, please let me know.

Posted Fri 26 May 06 @ 7:51 pm
xeonPRO InfinityModeratorMember since 2004
i think it should wirk as far as it is midi.

Posted Sat 27 May 06 @ 10:56 am
Dj XeoPRO InfinityMember since 2005
im no midi expert but im pretty sure midi was improved to know the difference, have a look in the change history on the products menu

Posted Sat 27 May 06 @ 2:52 pm
VDJ currently doesn't know the difference between notes (Buttons) and CC's (Knobs, sliders, jogwheels) - If two share the same number as each other (Very common, because this should not be a problem normally), they will both trigger the same action in VDJ.

Some MIDI controllers do allow the MIDI commands they send to be customised (So you can make the numbers unique), or a MIDI translator program could be used (Both of these methods require a bit of technical knowledge though.)

Other problems include not being able to recognise left/right jogwheel movements on the same CC (Jogwheel can only be used if left/right movements can be given different CC numbers, so each can be individual mapped) and inverted pitch (Up = Speed up rather than slow down.)