Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Sound Help/Assistance

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

YSRCaliPRO InfinityMember since 2006
Firstly, forgive me, I am fairly new to Virtual DJ'ing.

I am using a Toshiba "Satilite" Laptop (1.2 ghz, 100gig drive, 512 memory) and it seems to have limited sound settings.

Problem is that some or most music seems distorted and is possibly due to the way it was MP3 was ripped. So at times, I scramble within the VDJ skin to drop the bass down and or volume to better the sound quatlity.

Anyone familiar with latop settings and or have a suggestion(s) to bettering the sound quality and/or ridding distortion?

ps, any virtual EQ recommendations or is it suggested?

any tips/suggestions are appreciated :)

Posted Thu 30 Mar 06 @ 6:51 pm
bagpussPRO InfinityMember since 2003
Try the following settings:
Gain at or below -4
Limiter: Disabled
Timestretch: Disabled

Enocode your MP3's using the Lame or Faunhofer (encoder), use a minmimum bite rate of 192kbps.

If you are using your laptops onboard soundcard I'd recommend upgrading to something higher quality, the soundcards on board most laptops are pretty dirt cheap.

In regards to EQ's, I'd recommend an external unit or even adjusting the pre-set on your Amplifier.

The sound engine of VDJ will be greatly improved in Version 4 which is due out soon, however the problem you described can't be blamed completely on the current engine as it provides good sound quality for the vast majority of users.

I hope this information is of some help to you.

Posted Thu 30 Mar 06 @ 6:59 pm
Thanks for the input

I verified my settings to what you have suggested as well as adjusted my soundcard settings for "best" sound. However, I did experience one glitch/hick-up over the weekend while Djing a gig.