Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Digital DJ Licence

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

PionaraPRO InfinityMember since 2004
Guys

I got an email earlier from Mastermix about the newly available Digital DJ Licence available for £250 for 12 months...which is apparently the next revolution in digital dj'ing...from a legal point of view.

You can check the details out here http://www.mastermixdj.com or here http://www.digitaldj.co.uk

does this mean anything to anyone/ is this something we need to think about getting? or just some clown trying to get more bucks out of us?!?!!?

this is what the site (mastermixdj.com) says about the whole thing...

Digital DJ Licence

16 Aug 2005 - James Hudson

After 8 months of intensive research and preparation, we can proudly announce that the PPL Digital DJ Licence is now available to purchase at our new sister website, www.digitaldj.co.uk

The PPL Digital DJ Licence allows DJs to transfer up to 20,000 tracks onto a computer or MP3 device to play out in clubs, pubs and other venues. In addition, the Licence entitles DJs to keep a back-up of all digital copies on a separate database or hard drive. With more and more leading DJ equipment manufacturers releasing MP3 based hardware, there is now a legal and sensible route available to fully embrace the ever changing industry climate. The licence will be available to buy at digitaldj.co.uk.

Mastermix will provide the 12 month licence acting as agents to PPL (the Phonographic Performance Limited). DJs will be able to purchase the Mastermix Digital DJ Membership for £250 plus VAT which in addition to the PPL Digital DJ Licence will include a 12 month access to the first community based website solely dedicated to Digital DJs. Digitaldj.co.uk members will benefit from news, reviews, self marketing guides, message boards, a personalised email account and more essential features.