Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: Two soundcards,mixer,and turntables-Need help please8=)

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I have been using Atomixmp3 at home for about 7 or 8 months now. I have the opportunity to play out with other Dj's spinning vinyl. I am not sure how to hook up to their mixer. I have a soundblaster pci 128 and a Crystyl WDM Audio. They work great together at home, but I wanna be able to mix from another DJ spinning his set on vinyl to my set which will be on Atomixmp3. Any help with this would be appreciated. Thanx 8~)

Posted Thu 07 Jun 01 @ 8:48 pm
OyyoDamsPRO InfinityHonorary memberMember since 2003
I advice you to test your configuration berfore the party: in Atomix, configure your hardware to "2 sound cards - external mixer" and test your 2 sound cards. You can do that without a mixer, just plug a headphone on each sound cards and listen if it works.
Then at the party you just have to plug you 2 sound cards and the 2 turntables to the external mixer. It should work !

If it can help you, my config is: one 3D sound card, 2 turntables and an external mixer. This config works very well...

Hope that helps you, and have nice parties !

Dams

Posted Thu 07 Jun 01 @ 10:59 pm
Thanx, I think that will work assuming that their mixer has enough jacks(2 for turntables and 2 for soundcards). I would also have to use the crossfader on the external mixer correct? I guess that would not be a problem. Still...I would rather use atomixmp3's crossfader. What about this config.....