Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Music discussion

Topic: Not impressed with vdj search engine

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I am kind of new with Virtual DJ but I am not impressed with the search engine. Yes maybe I need to take some more time which I don't have to craft up some setlists. But the other night I was working at a Tavern and I maybe played 4 songs from Virtual DJ and all the rest were off of my Google Play account. I don't have time in the middle of the sap to be fooling around with a search engine so I go on my Google music and get it instantly. Does anyone share my frustration? Or any advice?

Posted Thu 18 Oct 18 @ 2:49 pm
RTFM

Posted Thu 18 Oct 18 @ 3:59 pm
Section 4 of the Google Play T&Cs states: "...your personal, non-commercial use only." That's the case with any of the popular streaming sites (i.e. Spotify etc) aimed at consumers.

They're not for DJ use.

There's nothing wrong with the search in VDJ. It's no different to any of the above services - type something in and get a result. If you don't get results then you need to look at your file tagging.

Posted Thu 18 Oct 18 @ 4:34 pm
Sounds like the issue is with searching content unlimited?

Posted Thu 18 Oct 18 @ 6:11 pm
djdadPRO InfinityDevelopment ManagerMember since 2005
Have you ever imported (added) your Tracks to the Search DB of VirtualDJ ?

If not, then see this... http://www.virtualdj.com/wiki/Add%20to%20Search%20DB%20VirtualDJ%208.html

If yes, then perhaps you need to tell VDJ to what fields it should look into and search for .Click on the small dot-button (Search Option) and make your selections

It also depends on how your tracks have been imported, or rather if you have set VDJ to fill Artist/Title etc fields from either Tags or filenames.
So probably you need to provide a few more details on what you have done so far, what have you tried and how is your music collection structured (ID3 Tags updated, filenames updated etc)