Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: VMS4 Master Out through PC - Page: 1

This part of topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information

Hi all,

Last week I purchased the VMS4, and upgraded my Virtual DJ to the Pro.

It's an excellent machine, yet there is one thing I cannot figure out how to do, and it is quite important to me:

Although I play at clubs, I also want to make mixes and play at home, using Virtual DJ. I want to be able to
hear my Master output via the PC, while still using the headphones and microphone on the device. I've tried
various combinations on the Config of VDJ (admittedly I'm new to the software and the world of virtual DJing)
and the best I got was all sound as one from the speakers and loosing all the functionality of the device.

What are the configurations I need to use the device as designed, yet the Master output going through the
PC speakers?

Thanks in advance for you help guys!

Cheers,
Theo

Posted Sun 06 Feb 11 @ 5:26 pm
The easiest way is to connect a suitable cable (2x RCA to 3.5" headphone jack) from the master outputs of the VMS4 to the line input of your computer. The sound will then come out through the computer's speakers (If not, go to your sound card's mixer/control panel and ensure that the line input is not muted and the volume is set to an appropriate level.)

Posted Mon 07 Feb 11 @ 6:00 am
Thank you, that makes sense, but will I not loose my the ability to use my headphones to hear what I will mix on the other Deck?

I assumed that I could set Master to PC Sound Card and Headphones to VMS4 sound card, yet that didn't seem to work (I might have the "Output 1&2", etc wrong though, which I can't find the meanings for and how to use them - again, I'm a noob at this).

I also read somewhere that I can use the sound that the VMS4 sends back into VDJ for recording. Any ideas?

Thanks again for your help!

Cheers,
Theo

Posted Mon 07 Feb 11 @ 6:11 am
Please re-read the above.