Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Projection help!

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

After Djing with videos for a year now (I know, not long) with a 32" TV and/or connecting to pubs and bars own screens I think the next logical step is to buy a projector and a screen.
Now, I don't know any one else in my area that uses this so I've come to this forum for help. As I'm new to this you can assume I know nothing so please don't get too technical straight away! I'm based in the U.K by the way.

Firstly, the screen.. I've seen prices vary from £40 up to £120 and way beyond. But isn't a screen just a screen? Why would I pay £120 for one when there's another being sold for almost £100 cheaper?
Initially I'll be going for a front projection screen because the rear projection ones seem very pricey (even if they would be ideal).

Obviously the more you pay for a projector the better quality you'll get, but, for instance if I pay £140 for a projector am I simply throwing good money away as they won't anywhere near the quality i'm looking for for projecting my videos/wedding photos etc? Am I just as well paying £60 than £140 because most of the decent quality items are around the £500/£600 mark?

Here's 2 things I'm currently watching but I'm worried they are TOO cheap

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/190818594279?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/221638315842?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and links to what you would recommend if these will not suffice.
Many thanks.

Posted Fri 05 Jun 15 @ 4:28 pm
blckjckPRO InfinityMember since 2008