Quick Sign In:  

Forum: Old versions

Topic: Vestax Spin Help!

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hi Everyone,
I am new to Virtual DJ Pro and decided to try it out with my Vestax Spin. I don't quite understand all the viritual DJ "code" that is required to set up the mapping. I tried it out but it doesn't seem to work. I mustn't be joining the different verbs and things together with correct characters. Its all a bit confusing for me!

Anyway, so the program recognises it as "Vestax Typhoon" but still many of the buttons are incorrect (I'm assuming because its not typhoon, its spin). One in particular is the headphones button for each deck. One for the left, one for the right. I want to be able to select each individually to output to the headphones as well as both at the same time (which I can do with the basic Djay program it comes with). I've only been able to figure out how to output to the headphones with both decks outputting, and no option to choose between the two.

I hope this makes sense? Or does anyone even have a mapper for vestax spin that I can custom put in which would solve everything (including all the other buttons that don't work).

Also the loop in/out button, record button, automix button, mic on/off button and probably many others are all wrong as well.

I appreciate your patience with me being a newbie! Any help is much appreciated!!!

Posted Wed 27 Apr 11 @ 1:24 am
Unfortunately the manufacturer used the same firmware ID for some Typhoons and Spins. This is because the Spin was never intended to be used with any other software except for DJay.

While we have implemented native support for the Spin, this is not officially supported by the manufacturer. Only the Typhoon which officially ships with VirtualDJ LE is supported and this has priority for native support in VirtualDJ.