Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: LINK FADER WITH EXTERNAL MIXER

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I WAS WANDERING IF THERE IS A WAY TO LINK THE FADER OF YOU EXTERNAL MIXER WITH THE ONE IN THE SOFTWARE, EVERYTIME I WANT TO RECORD A SET UP, I HAVE TO MX IT WITH THE SOFTWARE FADER, I'VE BEEN MIXING WITH VDJ FOR A COUPLE OF YEARS NOW, BUT I REALLY DON'T KNOW IF YOU CAN DO THAT.

WOULD APRECIATE SOME HELP ON THIS.

THANKS

Posted Sat 11 Mar 06 @ 1:41 am
djcityPRO InfinityMember since 2005
I don't quite get what you are trying to do.

Can you use the record out of your external mixer?

Posted Mon 13 Mar 06 @ 1:29 am
I think what he means is that he would like the functionality of a physical crossfader linked to the software-based version inside VirtualDJ.

The best way to control each channel with a physical crossfader is to run Player 1 to Channel 1 and Player 2 to Channel 2 on your mixer. Leave the VirtualDJ crossfader in the middle and do all your mixing with the physical crossfader.

Wham-Bam, you'll be mixing in no time.

Woody

Posted Mon 13 Mar 06 @ 2:02 am
l_ridsPRO InfinityMember since 2003
No there is no link between your external mixer and the software. If you use the external mixer the record option will not work as it does not recognise movement in the fader.

You will need to run a separate output from your mixer to your soundcard. This can be done using a 2rca cable to a 3.5mm jack (cable type depending on your type of soundcard input) into one of your line in ports or mic input. You can take the output of your mixer from the booth connection or master output using a dual y adaptor.

You can then use a separate audio program to record the input from your mixer. This could be as basic as the sound recording program that comes with windows. Although I think there may be a time limit. In either case thats the method you would use.

Posted Mon 13 Mar 06 @ 2:23 am