Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: VDJ scripting first impressions

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

ScooxHome userMember since 2018
I'm a VDJ newbie. I've previously created mappings for Traktor and Deckadance. Here's my thoughts on how these three compare:

Traktor: Mappings editor is very newbie-friendly and works well for very simple mappings, but for complex mappings it's a nightmare come true. If you are a programmer or a script-nut, the mouse-driven interface will no doubt drive you nuts. Furthermore, you can only edit one item at a time. Only 8 "modifiers" (basically variables meaninglessly numbered 1 to 8) that are local to each controller, not global, so each controller lives in it's own little world, in complete isolation from other controllers. Only two "if" conditions (not if-else) per mapping. The editor is so clunky a user went out of his way and reverse-engineered the Traktor mappings file and created an editor that makes life a lot easier (CMDR Traktor Controller Manager). Still, trying to make sense of a complex mapping created by someone else is almost impossible.