Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Looking for a Virtual DJ compatible console that plays between laptop and iPad

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Virtual DJ!

I recently purchased the Hercules RMX2 console with Virtual DJ download. I am using the program for just occasional DJing (not professionally), but I do need to be able to play music not just through the VDJ software on my laptop but through my iPad as well (like Spotify). I know the console has additional RCA inputs, but when I plugged in my iPad and switched the source on the console to play the iPad, it doesn't work. I don't know if I have the mapping wrong, or if playing through another source is with the Pro version, but I'm having a really hard time with this. Can you help me out, or if I misunderstood and this console can't do this, please recommend another one that can? I'm basically trying to streamline my hardware and not have to use a console and a mixer... Thank you!

Posted Thu 05 Mar 15 @ 5:47 am
You have VDJ set to use the RMX2 as the audio output, yes?

You have the RMX2 outputs connected to an amp or powered speakers?

Posted Thu 05 Mar 15 @ 8:16 am
938MyDJPRO InfinityMember since 2007
Reloop Beatpad or Pioneer WeGo 2/3

Posted Thu 05 Mar 15 @ 6:02 pm
Hi there,

Yes, that's correct! Still, nothin.

Posted Thu 05 Mar 15 @ 6:04 pm

Posted Thu 05 Mar 15 @ 6:20 pm
Thanks for the input! Well it looks like this might not really be what I'm looking for then. I'm looking to use Virtual DJ to cue up music and play it, and a mixer to be able to cross-fade between tracks, with an input for my iPad in case my computer or my Virtual DJ crashes. Any ideas on hardware options?

Also not sure how much this matters but I have Mac Yosemite and currently using the LE versions of VDJ 7 and 8 (although 8 won't recognize my iTunes playlists, grr). Thanks all!

Posted Thu 05 Mar 15 @ 6:27 pm