Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Skins

Topic: Skin concept - Page: 1

This part of topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information

MeowMixPRO InfinityMember since 2010
This would be a skin aimed at 4 deck controllers like the MC6000, NS6, S4 and EDM mixing.

I am only providing the concept, since i have no experience skinning I really hope someone will pick up the project and make it happen.

The idea is to maximize visual info feedback. I am not entirely opposed to adding play, pause buttons but as of now id like to focus on relaying info rather than controlling. If there is space left buttons can be added.

The concept is a combination of the regular VDJ7 4deck skin and Virtual Scratch 2.2.1 and some of my own ideas.

The deck panels are there to show you essential information about the track.

The effects, hot cues, loop and pitch slider panel is deck specific. Changing between decks 1-3 and 2-4 will show the effects, cue points, pitch slider and loops loaded/engaged for that specific track. This way you can have 4 different effects loaded up on 4 different decks for a total of 16 effects.

One thing i am not sure about is sure whether LOOP information should be on each deck panel (ie where the track name and info is). I think it might turn out to be more useful to see whether each deck is looping without having to change the deck view panel.

The sample section is somewhat inspired by traktor however since samples are not attached to decks you can have samples 1-4 loaded on the left side (deck 1-3 side) and 5-8 loaded on the right side (deck 2-4 side) hence being able to see info about 8 samples simultaneously.
What i havent seen anywhere else and think should be displayed in the sample section is the loops size of the sample.
Just like regular loops you can see if the sample is a 1 shot or is looping and what is the loop size.