Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Faulty Denon MC6000 Mk1, VDJ 8.2 to the rescue :-) - Page: 1

This part of topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information

I had an issue with my Denon MC6000 Mk1 last night.

Back story - I bought my Denon MC6000 5 years ago when they first came onto the market. After 10 months upfader 3 became faulty (at full travel the volume was jumping up and down uncontrollably). The unit was repaired under warranty, but, when it was returned, the navigation knob and buttons were unmovable. The unit was replaced with a new one under warranty, then, after 10 months the same up fader 3 became faulty. The unit was again sent back for repairs, it worked fine for around 10 months and, you've guessed it, up fader 3 became faulty again. As I was very busy I didn't get around to sending the unit back and reprogrammed the mapping to use faders 1 & 4 (I only use 2 decks). I have been using it like this for 3 years.

On Saturday at the start of a wedding gig fader 1 started jumping up & down, OMG!!! I quickly looked in the options of v8.2 and found the tick boxes for the fader arrangements. One tick and my MC6000 was set to use faders 2 & 4, just in time for the first dance, phew!!! After around 30 minutes fader 2 started doing the same and I had a full wedding gig of 3 hours ahead of me, gulp!!! I managed to get through the gig by not moving fader 2 to its full travel.

Going to see about getting the MC6000 repaired tomorrow, I also have the typical Start Button microswitch failure, I've recently been starting the decks with the CUE1 buttons.

Maybe it's time to start looking at a replacement such as the MC6000 Mk2 or the MC4000 and keep the MC6000 as a backup. My only concern is in September the BPM Show will be on at the NEC, Birmingham in the UK, wonder if there is some new kit that I'll wish I waited for.

Posted Mon 18 Jul 16 @ 1:40 am
lincol2PRO InfinityMember since 2011