Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Do I really need a DJ controller?

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hi everyone

I'm relatively new to DJ'ing, I've been doing small parties for family and friends for less than a year. I run VDJ 8 Pro on my laptop, I have a good Yamaha mixer and a pre-sonus Audiobox USB external sound card. I connect the pre-sonus to the usb port of the laptop and its outputs to one of the mixer's input channels. I'm thinking about improving my audio interface from the pre-sonus to something with more output channels. From what I read, my options are to buy a DJ controller with built in audio interface or a different sound card.
I can't help but think that a DJ controller is redundant since I have the mixer. Any suggestions ??

Posted Tue 01 Sep 15 @ 1:46 pm
AdionPRO InfinityCTOMember since 2006
Your mixer probably doesn't have controls for the decks though.
If you are fine doing this with keyboard and mouse, then of course you don't need it, but typically start/stop, cueing a song with a jog wheel, pitch-bending, dedicated controls for loops and effects, ... can make it easier to control the decks and get feedback on what is going on.

Posted Tue 01 Sep 15 @ 1:54 pm
Thanks for your input. Yes, I do everything - loading tracks, beatmatching etc.. with my mouse. I would certainly appreciate an easier way to spin my tunes.

I think I'll start looking for a decent controller with an equally decent audio interface. Gemini G4V-4 or Hercules. Any particular suggestions in the $300 to $400 price range ?

Thanks again.

Posted Tue 01 Sep 15 @ 2:08 pm
They are decent controllers, but also take a look at Pioneer, Numark and Denon. Try to touch these controllers before you buy, to get a feel of what they do and how you perform on them.

Posted Tue 01 Sep 15 @ 3:11 pm
My advice would be to ditch the mouse and get a controller, at least you will feel a bit more like a DJ.

Posted Tue 01 Sep 15 @ 10:05 pm