Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Video DJ making the transition from 7 to 8..questions - Page: 1

This part of topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information

i was really eager to switch to v8 when it came out due to the sound quality improvement but i got shy when i noticed that there were some stability issues and the kind of plugins i needed were not available yet...

so i decided to wait it out a few months until V8 had all the features and stability i need

im wondering how is everything getting on now?

my needs are as follows:
im a weekly resident VJ and i like to play custom made clips in the background when my file is audio only (normally im using essential media for this)

and apart from that i like to display logos and scrolling text on the screen (normally i use essential visuals for this)

i see there are other options now to achieve the same result but im not familiar with them...
anyone been through this change and able to talk to me about it?

thanks

Posted Tue 28 Jul 15 @ 8:35 pm
PachNPRO InfinityMember since 2009
You can link audioOnly files with a video file by draging the video file onto the preview window. (just like in 7).

For scrolltext and logo etc. I'm using www.tellyvisuals.com

Posted Wed 29 Jul 15 @ 3:49 am
thanks

how about stability?

Posted Wed 29 Jul 15 @ 5:01 am
To be honest, yes there are some minor bugs. But nothing that should stop you from using V8 live.

Posted Wed 29 Jul 15 @ 5:49 am
I'm an all video DJ, three nights a week resident and mobile. I am a PC user, and have been using version 8 since it was beta, and I have had one crash and think it was something that I did. I use the video sampler, tellyvisuals, tellymedia, milkdrops, and slideshow. I never have a blank screen. The only way to tell if it's stable, is to try it out for yourself. Just because someone else is having an issue, does not mean you will.

Posted Wed 29 Jul 15 @ 10:10 am