Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: New Laptop

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Thank you in advance Everyone!!!!
Hi Guys I know this gets posted a lot but here goes again. My current laptop gets used for everything (net surfing,Finances, email etc.).
And yes I make my living DJing. I know shame on me right!!!
I want to order a new laptop literally tomorrow but need to know what specs I should get on it.
I am a fan of Dell as they have been good to me. I want to stay with XP and they still ship with that so what else should I make sure to get?
I know the 1st thing is price..well around $2000 mark I guess...
I always DJ with an external HD at 7200 rpm taking that into consideration what else is needed for stable use.
-RAM
-Processor Speed
-Video Card Specs
I will continue to use my brand new M-Audio Sound Card

Once I get it what should I remove to have it work well.(software etc.) I still like to download songs at fucntions if I am missing one and an important guests asks for it. I have a wireless Card for laptop

I dont play videos but we do alot of video work so you never know if I might start playing video clips down the road that we created.advertising etc.
Thank you

Posted Wed 19 Mar 08 @ 7:09 pm
My Components
Dell XPS 1530
Tuxedo Black
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T9500 (2.6GHz/800Mhz FSB, 6MB Cache)
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium Edition
Glossy, widescreen 15.4 inch LCD (1280x800) & 2.0 MP Camera
4GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz (2 Dimms)
Speed: 120GB 7200rpm SATA Hard Drive Free Fall Sensor
Slot Load DVD+/-RW (DVD/CD read/write)
256MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600M GT
Dell Wireless 1505 Wireless-N Mini-card
56 WHr 6-cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery
High Definition Audio 2.0
Finger Print Reader XPS M1530

there just did that for ya on their website - total comes to 1,999 ;)

LOADED to the almost brim lol

but i dont know where you can get xp on dell... wasnt an option