Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Flac Support, Is It Going To To Be Implemented

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

Hi all

FLAC (Free Lossless Audio Codec) is great if you want save harddrive space and keep your PERFECT WAV's in there original recorded condition / format.

I have been playing with this codec for about 10 months and in this time it is becomming much more popular and seems to be the way forward.

Anything to get rid of crappy MP3's and have a codec that keeps your music in a original untouch format !

Will there please be any support for FLAC in VDJ, almost a year has passed while I have been playing with flac and nothing and no mention.

I know you can use external plugins for windows, but how about true native support in Virtual DJ

Regards

John

Posted Fri 09 Nov 07 @ 8:41 am
a13nHome userMember since 2007
Yeah, flac is great.
I also wish djs will upload their mix with flac format.

Posted Fri 09 Nov 07 @ 12:12 pm
I have a question about flac (here in germany i never heard anythink about this format). So what i know is, that it has the same audio quality like wav, but the files are smaller. My question: How big is a song with 3-4 minutes in MB with the flac format?

Posted Fri 09 Nov 07 @ 12:15 pm
Hi

Just compressed a 45 meg wav file to Flac and the flac file is 30meg (saved 15 meg)

Ok not a great saving in size but quality is never lost and that is far mor important to me that the size

at the moment I use wavs so any saving in size will be a benifit and I hate going to bars and club and hearing screechy Crappy MP3

There is so much great music from different decades and what a pitty when you hear the crappy mp3 quality.

It's taken me years to get my records over to PC, I'm not cutting corners anywhere in the process with the audio equipment, so why should I then mess the final part up (if I choose crappy mp3 format to save) !!!