Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Help me out!

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I am fairly new to mixing and was wondering where to look for a pair of turntables to complement atomixmp3. If anyone knows of a website or anywhere for me start to look please post it for me!

Posted Mon 01 Apr 02 @ 6:15 am
There are some GREAT websites out there .... do a Yahoo! search for "DJ". But first, let me offer you some advice .... there are 2 major kinds of turntables: Belt-Drive and Direct Drive.

Belt-Drive turntables are driven by a belt connected to the motor. They cost WAY less but are CRAP !!! No PRO DJ's use them ..... They don't hold their pitch (speed) well (you'll learn about that more as soon as you get more into the whole DJ'ing thing), and have poor scratching ablilities. They range from $100 - $200 US. Although they are attractive in price, they are cheap for a reason. Belt-Drives are suitable if you only need them just for playback and recording. The quality is essentially the same.

Direct drive tables are driven by a motor DIRECTELY connected to the motor. All PRO DJ's use these. They are way more in price, but are the BEST way to go. The industry standard ... Technics 1200's ... are the #1 turntables in the world. Though, they are very simple with just a pitch control, they are known for their perfomance, stability and quality. If you get a set of these ... expect them to last for years. But on the downside .. they started at around $499 US each. Other manufacturers like Numark and Stanton offer more features on their tables for a lower price, but their quality just does not match.

Put this way ..... it's like comparing a Premium Top-Of-The-Line Hyundai and a Base Bottom-of-the-line BMW - It's still a BMW - but for the same price you can get ALOT more goodies on the Hyundai (sorry for the rather strange but true comparison).