Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Technical Support

Topic: Question about license and karaoke set up.

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

fisk33Home userMember since 2011
Hello everyone. I've been using vdj for years as an amateur DJ at a campground. I'm far from a Pro and I don't get paid. I'm just a guy who's downloaded a ton of music over the years and I play songs for Saturday night dances in the summer and try to occasionally say something funny on the mic...

The owner of the campground want's to do karaoke. I've told him I don't do it, but I'd like to help and see what it takes to put it together. I'm excited to see you have the Karaoke Content available. Here are my questions: From the reading I've done, it looks like I need to upgrade to a pro version to get the video output to work. I don't use a controller and I don't charge for what I do. I'm thinking about maybe doing karaoke a few times per summer, and that will add on to the 8 to 10 times I do a regular dance. What's the least expensive route to do this? I just want to be able to send the video of the song lyrics to a monitor, I assume thru the VGA port of my laptop. I don't see anyway to do it now so I assume it will be available if I upgrade?

Thanks

Posted Wed 11 Oct 17 @ 12:10 am
PachNPRO InfinityMember since 2009
It is depending when your 8 to 10 gigs are. If they are just during the summer months, a Pro subscription for $19/month would be cheaper.

If they are across the year, a pro full version for $299 would amortise in the 2nd year. (compared to a monthly subscription)

I'd say, if you can afford it and DJing is fun to you go for the pro.

Posted Wed 11 Oct 17 @ 7:38 am
AdionPRO InfinityCTOMember since 2006
You don't need pro for video output in vdj 8, so if you do it for free the home version should be ok.

Posted Wed 11 Oct 17 @ 9:08 am
Of course you are right, but no fullscreen mode.

Posted Wed 11 Oct 17 @ 12:50 pm