Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: Denon DJ MCX8000 and Virtual dj - Page: 1

This part of topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information

I'm looking at purchasing this controller as I can see it now works with virtual dj on terms of screens etc, but wondered whether you are able to browse your library from virtual dj on the screens in the same way as the numark screens do or can you only do this if you use Denon engine?
Thanks!

Posted Fri 29 Sep 17 @ 9:46 pm
djdadPRO InfinityDevelopment ManagerMember since 2005

Posted Fri 29 Sep 17 @ 10:46 pm
I have been using the MCX8000 with VDJ for about 4 months now and it is 100% perfect. Best software & controller combo ever!

Same cannot be said for Engine 1.5 and standalone mode though. Denon have stated they are committed to the controller and it has not been forgotten. New firmware and support in Engine prime will happen sometime.

Posted Sat 30 Sep 17 @ 10:20 am
kradcliffe wrote :
Best software & controller combo ever!

1+

kradcliffe wrote :

Same cannot be said for Engine 1.5 and standalone mode though.

1++
Engine is a piece of s##t!.

Posted Sat 30 Sep 17 @ 10:41 am
kradcliffe wrote :
Same cannot be said for Engine 1.5 and standalone mode though.

What is your experience with Engine 1.5? I started playing with it a bit and I can't get it to do anything. Seems like any song gives me the error "File is not audio file." and it won't add them to the database.

I was hoping it might be possible to look at the database format and see if there's any way to convert cue points etc. from VDJ database.

Posted Fri 06 Oct 17 @ 12:24 am
Engine 1.5 is almost unusable.

It crashes constantly and it took me several days to build a working database. Not all my songs are in it because some of them cause it to crash during scanning. could be artwork, could be tag meta data but no-one really knows. You also need to make sure there are no 48k audio files as those won't be recognised.