Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Technical Support

Topic: New user with VDJ, problem with Karaoke Files

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I am a new user trying to get my Karoke files to play on this. I load the cdg on one deck and the mp3 on the other and hit play on both one after the other. I see the lyrics on the screen in the background while the same lyrics are spinning in front of it. How can I turn this spinning screen off? is there a better way to play both files at the same time? Is it easy to hit just one play button and have both decks start at the same time? Thanks for your help, I am a noob

Posted Thu 10 Nov 16 @ 2:57 am
ZIP the CDG and MP3.

Don't drag and drop the CDG file.

If both CDG and MP3 on the same folder, use vdj browser and load the mp3 (vdj just shows the mp3 and not the cdg file).

Better off ZIPPING the two files IMO.

Posted Thu 10 Nov 16 @ 3:13 am
Normally if you load the mp3 and video-screen is enabled, then the cdg is loaded automatically.

Posted Thu 10 Nov 16 @ 1:55 pm
The Magic.DJ wrote :
ZIP the CDG and MP3.

Don't drag and drop the CDG file.

If both CDG and MP3 on the same folder, use vdj browser and load the mp3 (vdj just shows the mp3 and not the cdg file).

Better off ZIPPING the two files IMO.

ZIP files are good if you absolutely must have the reduced file sizes, but there are two major drawbacks that I'm aware of: it creates an additional layer of processing that must be performed every time you load a track--extra CPU usage--and it adds an additional point of potential failure as well. Both CDG and MP3 files can get (slightly) corrupted and still be usable, but ZIP files cannot. For this reason, I actually unzipped my entire karaoke library. I also choose to use newer video formats (MP4, etc.) whenever possible, even though this requires manually tagging the tracks as karaoke in VirtualDJ.

Posted Fri 13 Jan 17 @ 5:20 am
Turn the satellite transition effect off... select none