Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: DJ Mistakes : Amatuer v Professional - Page: 1

This part of topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information

VDJ RonPRO InfinityMember since 2010
I've been thinking about an experience I had a couple of years ago that might help people.
I suppose I'm not a proper professional, and generally do not work with UK music icons.
The booking was for the CEO of a major UK company. I was an after thought, he had already booked a well known star, a very competent duo, a beautiful female string quartet, plus a dicky bowed compare who annoyed me by referring to me as a "goochie boy". The venue was a magnificent large hall which contained a large number of very expensive illuminated paintings. The stars entourage included 3 female backing singers, lighting engineers, sound engineers, and various musicians. All of the entertainment people where put in a comfortable room together, including me. The idea was that the star, and his crew where hidden behind a huge curtain which would be pulled back when he went on stage at 10pm.

Ok now for the mistakes I made:
1) I insisted on erecting my disco lights. Remember this venue is subtly lit, and contains fabulous artwork.
2) Showing my lack of class by enquiring about what frequency to set my radio microphone. These guy's, and gal's use the best, and their radio microphones automatically jump onto any available frequency.