Quick Sign In:  

Forum: General Discussion

Topic: begginning dj needs to know fastest way to learn the program and its features

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

I have no prior experience with music and want to help out a friend who has sang in the past with a band and is trying to go solo but needs a sound tech to play the background music while she sings. we want to go pro in the future but i need to learn the programs and equipment. Anyway she has music on itunes including some karaoke tracks, but needs more updated music and i am suppse to help put songs in her key and put together playlist and dj songs durring breaks etc. Since we are just trying to practice and get good enough for us to go proim not sure what my best options are for subscriptions and controllers and such. i currently have the free home edition with no subscriptions or any extras. i have a dell lap top, a peavey 10usb mixer, microphone and speakers to practice with.any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated. Like i said before i have noexperience and dont knowwhat different things mean so any advice is definatelywelcomed

Posted Mon 27 Oct 14 @ 11:55 pm
first thing I would suggest is update to a VDJ pro licence - this gives you full access to the program - I know it costs money but reading your post it sounds like it would be a good investment!

Then I would suggest you look at all the videos and video tips on VDJ on the net as they are a really good source of information and practice practice practice !!

If you get stuck on a specific issue post on here as someone will always have an answer

Good luck

Posted Tue 28 Oct 14 @ 9:39 am
How much working capital do you have, whats your budget?
Whats your business plan for when you do have the gear needed? Are you networked with local bars & establishments?