Quick Sign In:  

Forum: VirtualDJ Plugins

Topic: Single Knob Filter: VST Plug-in Emulates Pioneer DJM-800 (FREE)

This topic is old and might contain outdated or incorrect information.

903djPRO InfinityMember since 2012
I'm fairly new to mixing and in my search for knowledge I read several posts where users felt the filter in vdj was lacking. Not really knowing what it should or shouldn't sound like I started searching for alternatives to see if I could understand the filter better and why the vdj one was lacking.

I tried qb_filter, but seemed to get some distortion that shouldn't be there. Maybe it's my laptop, my controller or my lack of knowledge, but I just didn't like the sound I was getting out of it. So my search continued.

This morning I ran across this: (Windows Only)

Single Knob Filter (SKF) : VST Plug-in Emulates Pioneer DJM-800 - FREE Windows only.

Again it may be my inexperience, but I like the effect I get with this much better than the VDJ stock filter or the qb_filter.

Turn the filter knob (slider 1) to the left for low-pass filtering and to the right for high-pass. Want to give it more edge? Turn up the resonance knob (slider 2).

Let me know what you think!

I'm off to figure out how to remap my filter knob on my MC3000!

Posted Wed 03 Jul 13 @ 10:13 am
I prefer vengence producer suite's 'philta' it's really nice sounding and the trial version is free and never runs out of time

Posted Wed 03 Jul 13 @ 11:40 am
synthet1c wrote :
I prefer vengence producer suite's 'philta' it's really nice sounding and the trial version is free and never runs out of time

Thanks synthet1c! I didn't realize there was a trial version of philta. Do you have a link for the trial? I'm only finding the XL that requires an eLicenser dongle.

Other than preferring 'philta' any comments on the one I posted?

I'm fairly new to mixing, so opinions from those who have more experience is always welcome.

Posted Wed 03 Jul 13 @ 11:45 am